Ohio Senate includes a “Building Trades Majority”

On what was billed as a potentially unpredictable election night, the major political races in Ohio played out as many prognosticators predicted.

Ohio Republicans swept races for statewide offices, while legislative candidates endorsed by the building trades performed well.

The building trades retained their majority in the State Senate, as most Democrat and Republican candidates endorsed by building and construction trades councils, district councils and local unions won their respective races.

Heading into 2019, more than half of the members who will be in the 133rd State Senate support the building trades and issues most important to them. Of the 99 seats in the State House, building trades-friendly candidates won 48 races, which are two seats shy of a majority.

The mid-term election results pushed Ohio closer to having a bi-partisan majority of members who have indicated through promises and previous votes and action that they support the building trades in both legislative chambers.

Such a majority in the General Assembly can help the union construction industry combat attacks against Prevailing Wage, So-Called “Right to Work” and changes to Ohio’s Unemployment Compensation system.

Leading up to the Nov. 6 election, there was a mix of endorsements as it related to the statewide candidates, as support from various building and construction trades councils and local unions differed depending on the race.

In the statehouse, Republicans will continue to hold a supermajority in the General Assembly, 62-37, while Senate Republicans gained one seat to give them a 23-10 advantage.

According to the unofficial results released by the Secretary of State’s office, Republican Mike DeWine received 2,187,619 votes (50.66 percent) to defeat Democrat candidate Rich Cordray, who earned 2,005,627 votes (46.44 percent), to become Ohio’s next governor.

Other statewide Republican winners included:

  • Dave Yost, who got 52.42 percent of the vote to become Attorney General.
  • Keith Faber, who earned 2,110,073 votes (49.93 percent) to become the next Auditor of State
  • Frank LaRose, who received 2,166,125 votes (50.92 percent) to become the next Secretary of State.
  • Robert Sprague, who took 53.53 percent of the total votes (2,257,955 votes) to become the next Ohio Treasurer.

Overall, the turnout for this midterm election was high in the Buckeye State, as more than 4.3 million ballots were cast (54.3 percent of all registered voters).

Comments are closed.

Site Designed & Managed by: BMA Media GroupBMA Media Sign Display Bug